‘Yoga’, the world itself holds a lot of meaning in our life, though a lot of people thinks that it is just a set of postural practices that is performed to enhance flexibility. But actually it is more than just flexibility. It is unification, a spiritual unification that brings both the mind and the body to unite with each other.

The age old and ancient technique which is designed to improve the balance between the mind, body and soul. Yoga is an art of living a life full of good health and sound mind, to provide ultimate peace and prosperity in life.

The art that originated in India thousands of years ago, Yoga meaning ‘uniting’ the mind, body and spirit, which is achieved through meditative means combined with certain physical postures. There are many different types of yoga from the most demanding physical types to the easy, relaxing and meditative types. Each style of yoga is different from the other and carries its own significances.

The different types of Yoga practices:

  • Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga, is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘The Eight Limbs’. This type of Yoga demands very high sequences of physical postures. Definitely not the type for beginners, combines movement on breathing along with physical poses that has to be maintained for a certain period of time. It encourages you to breathe while moving from one pose to another. This yoga type has about six series, moving from easy to difficult levels as you progress.

  • Hatha Yoga

The most general type that includes most styles of yoga. It is one of the oldest style that involves asanas (yogic postures) with pranayama (breathing exercises) to bring peace to the mind and prepare the body for intense spiritual practices like meditation.

  • Vinyasa Yoga

Alike Hatha, this type of yoga also describes many different styles. Is an athletic yoga form that combines physical movement to synchronize with breathe? It is also referred to as flow yoga, which means flowing from one style of yoga to another is a serene and continuous manner.

  • Karma Yoga

Karma is a Sanskrit work meaning duty. This type of yoga is used to direct one’s energy in the right direction. It helps practitioners of this yoga form to turn process oriented and stay focused and dedicated on their goals by bringing freedom of the mind and soul.

  • Kundalini Yoga

A mix of repeated physical movements, various breathing forms, meditation along with chants and mantras, and this yoga form helps in healing of the soul and staying compassionate towards everyone. It helps in moving energy through the body.

  • Restorative Yoga

A relaxing, gentle and passive yoga form, allows the body into a gentle stretch that is conducted for at least 10 minutes. It is mainly focused to unwind and relax the mind and body after a daylong hectic journey. This type is yoga is a great mean to cleanse the mind and free it from any obstacles.

There are many other different varieties of yoga, but the main purpose of all yoga forms is to achieve ultimate levels of physical fitness along with mental wellbeing. The unity of all – the body, mind and soul is the only source for improving and achieving the highest quality of life.


Categories: Health